Krishnakant Saboo selected as 2023 Schmidt Science Fellow

Schmidt Science Fellows is an initiative of Schmidt Futures, delivered in partnership with the Rhodes Trust. The Schmidt Science Fellows Program helps scientists solve bigger problems faster by identifying, developing, and amplifying the next generation of science leaders, building a community of scientists and supporters of interdisciplinary science, and leveraging this network to drive sector-wide change. Each year, the Schmidt Science Fellows work in partnership with around 100 of the world’s leading science and engineering institutions to identify the best, brightest, and highest potential candidates to join the Fellowship. Fellows receive a stipend of $100,000 a year for up to two years of postdoctoral research in a discipline different from their Ph.D at a world-leading lab anywhere around the globe. They will attend a Global Meeting Series and training program that introduces them to new research ideas, techniques, and questions; exposes them to a wide range of cutting-edge science, leading thinkers, and institutions; and delivers tailored training in science communication, leadership, and the facilitation of interdisciplinary research and will also receive bespoke mentoring from renowned and accomplished senior scientists.

Learn more about Saboo’s work here!

Phuong Cao selected as Trusted CI Open Science Cybersecurity Fellow

Phuong Cao selected as Trusted CI Open Science Cybersecurity Fellow

ECE alumnus Phuong Cao was recently selected as a National Science Foundation Fellow for the Trusted CI NSF Cybersecurity Center of Excellence, 2023. Phuong Cao is currently a Research Scientist in the Cybersecurity Division at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA) at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

Saboo receives 2022 Young Investigator Award from American Epilepsy Society

Krishnakant Saboo, Senior DEPEND Group member, has been selected as a winner of the 2022 Young Investigator Awards by the American Epilepsy Society and the Scientific Program Committee. This award recognizes 20 young investigators conducting basic, translational, or clinical epilepsy research.  His abstract, titled “Predicting Seizure Clusters using Ambulatory Intracranial EEG in People with Focal Epilepsy”, was selected from over 1,300 submissions for this honor.

To learn more about the American Epilepsy Society please visit

Iyer and Saboo paper chosen as Landmark paper by EASL

The European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL) has selected the paper Stool microbiota are superior to saliva in distinguishing cirrhosis and hepatic encephalopathy using machine learning as a Landmark paper for their International Liver Congress 2022 held June 22nd-26th, 2022 in London.  The Journal of Hepatology has an impact factor of 30.

Congratulations to DEPEND group members, Krishnakant Saboo and Prof. Ravi Iyer on this outstanding achievement.

New research uses machine learning to predict epilepsy surgery outcomes based on normal scalp EEG

Bioengineering research assistant professor and DEPEND group alum, Yoga Varatharajah and colleagues from the Mayo and Cleveland Clinics and the University of Campinas in Brazil discovered that a machine learning analysis of normal scalp EEG scans can help predict ATL surgery outcomes.

To read more on the Grainger College of Engineering Bioengineering website please click here.