Forbes Article Cites Dr. Liewei Wang and Depend Group Researchers

In a recent Forbes article about how machine learning is helping to craft precision medicine, the work of Dr. Liewei Wang (of the Mayo Clinic and CCBGM) and of many Depend Group researchers, was cited. In the article, the collaborative efforts between the Mayo Clinic, the Depend Group, and others was highlighted by their 2017 paper which you can read here.

To read the full Forbes article click here.

Dr. Liewei Wang

Top CSL Story of 2018

An article written about the work of Yogatheesan Varatharajah, Dr. Greg Worrell, and Professor Ravishankar Iyer, has been awarded the Top CSL Story of 2018. This was based on the number of clicks the article received on the CSL website.

Read the original article here

Read the about the other Top CSL Stories here

Using Artificial Intelligence to Advance Epilepsy Treatment and Research

Yogatheesan VaratharajahDepend group researcher Yogatheesan Varatharajah’s work has been highlighted in the University of Illinois’ newspaper, the Daily Illini. His research using Artificial Intelligence methods resulted in a technique that can identify the brain regions that generate seizures without requiring the inspection of actual seizures.


Read more here 

AI and Probabilistic Modeling Help Identify Epilepsy-Causing Brain Regions

Using probabilistic modeling and artificial intelligence techniques based on real data from patients suffering from epilepsy, Depend group student researcher Yogatheesan Varatharajah and Mayo Clinic neurologist Dr. Greg Worrell developed a model to identify seizure generating brain regions using only non-seizure data. The new approach has the potential to decrease the time of an epilepsy procedure from days or weeks to just a couple of hours.

Yoga Varatharajah

Yoga is a PhD student in ECE and a Mayo- UIUC Alliance predoctoral research fellow.

Full article here

The full paper can be found here

Professor Kalbarczyk to lead new cybersecurity initiative in Singapore

The University of Illinois has received funding for a new research program in Singapore – the CREATE Programme for a Trustworthy and Secure Cyber-Plexus (TSCP). The new initiative will work to make information systems both trustworthy, meaning it behaves as expected even during disruptions, and secure, or hardened against malicious attacks.

TSCP is funded for five years by Singapore’s National Research Foundation and will focus on four main thrusts, primarily as they relate to the power grid: system architecture and the organization of trustworthy and secure cybersecurity components and their interactions; development of new hardware, software, protocols and applications; standards, verification and validation of components; and methodologies and tools to continuously monitor, detect and react to problems in real-time.

Zbigniew Kalbarczyk

The TSCP CREATE Programme will be led by David M. Nicol, the Franklin W. Woeltge Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Information Trust InstituteZbigniew T Kalbarczyk, a research professor of electrical and computer engineering in the Coordinated Science Laboratory, will share the leadership role.

Read more here

Depend Group Research has Impact in Medical Domain

Work performed by Depend Group member, Arjun Athreya, has been highlighted in the Mayo Clinic Center for Individualized Medicine Blog. “We combined expertise from clinicians, engineers and biologists to create an algorithm that uncovered patterns of antidepressant response that each of these specialists alone might not be able to recognize,” says Arjun Athreya, a Mayo- UIUC Alliance predoctoral research fellow. “Using this data with deep machine learning, we were able to predict with 75-85 percent accuracy whether a common antidepressant drug would work for each individual patient in the study. That compares to 58 percent accuracy when predictions are based only on clinical, demographic and social factors. In addition, we found that women and men respond differently to this antidepressant therapy.”

Arjun Athreya

This research is also funded under the NSF Funded Center for Computational Biotechnology and Genomic Medicine (CCBGM) led by Prof. Iyer.

The full paper can be found here.