Saboo receives 2022 Young Investigator Award from American Epilepsy Society

Krishnakant Saboo, Senior DEPEND Group member, has been selected as a winner of the 2022 Young Investigator Awards by the American Epilepsy Society and the Scientific Program Committee. This award recognizes 20 young investigators conducting basic, translational, or clinical epilepsy research.  His abstract, titled “Predicting Seizure Clusters using Ambulatory Intracranial EEG in People with Focal Epilepsy”, was selected from over 1,300 submissions for this honor.

To learn more about the American Epilepsy Society please visit

Iyer and Saboo paper chosen as Landmark paper by EASL

The European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL) has selected the paper Stool microbiota are superior to saliva in distinguishing cirrhosis and hepatic encephalopathy using machine learning as a Landmark paper for their International Liver Congress 2022 held June 22nd-26th, 2022 in London.  The Journal of Hepatology has an impact factor of 30.

Congratulations to DEPEND group members, Krishnakant Saboo and Prof. Ravi Iyer on this outstanding achievement.

New research uses machine learning to predict epilepsy surgery outcomes based on normal scalp EEG

Bioengineering research assistant professor and DEPEND group alum, Yoga Varatharajah and colleagues from the Mayo and Cleveland Clinics and the University of Campinas in Brazil discovered that a machine learning analysis of normal scalp EEG scans can help predict ATL surgery outcomes.

To read more on the Grainger College of Engineering Bioengineering website please click here.

Patke chosen for Best Presentation Award at IPDPS Workshop

Archit Patke, senior DEPEND student, has received the Best Presentation Award for his presentation on Evaluating hardware memory disaggregation under delay and contention at the First Workshop on Composable Systems (COMPSYS ‘22) held in tandem with the 36th IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS 2022).  His co-researchers are Haoran Qiu (DEPEND student), Saurabh Jha (IBM Research and former DEPEND student), Srikumar Venugopal (IBM Research), Michele Gazzetti (IBM Research), Christian Pinto (IBM Research), Zbigniew Kalbarczyk (DEPEND group professor), and Ravishankar Iyer (DEPEND group professor).  To view Archit’s presentation please click here.

Congrats to Archit and team!

Four DEPEND students chosen for fellowships

We are proud to announce that four of our students have earned fellowships for the 2022-2023 school year.

Krishnakant Saboo

Krishnakant Saboo has received the Graduate College Dissertation Completion Fellowship. This fellowship selection is based on the significance of the research, the student’s productivity and efficient progress toward the degree, and the likelihood that the student will defend and deposit the dissertation by August 2023. In addition to his obvious academic strengths, his advisor, Prof. Ravi Iyer, says, “he has demonstrated initiative, strong motivation, leadership strengths, and first-rate teamwork skills – all critical for an influential researcher. Indeed, the University has recognized his outstanding merit with several awards on campus, including the Elsa and Floyd Dunn Award, the Paul D. Doolen Graduate Scholarship for the Study of Aging, and the outstanding teaching assistant award, as well as the Mavis Future Faculty Fellowship that recognizes the next generation of great engineering faculty.” Please visit for more information regarding the Graduate College Dissertation Completion Fellowship.

Archit Patke

Archit Patke, fourth year Ph.D. student, has been selected as a Rambus Computer Engineering Fellowship recipient. The Rambus Computer Engineering Fellowship was established in 1999 to recognize a graduate student in the Computer Engineering Area for outstanding research. “Archit’s expertise is in computing systems and networks, but his strong theoretical background and an unusual flair for real implementations, measurements, and modeling set him apart,” says his advisor, Prof. Ravi Iyer. To learn more about the Rambus Computer Engineering Fellowship, please visit

Yurui Cao

The ECE department has picked Yurui Cao (third year Ph.D. student) for the Yunni & Maxine Pao Memorial Fellowship this year. This fellowship is awarded to high-achieving students from the United States or Hong Kong who have at least one parent from China. Prof. Ravi Iyer says this about Yurui “she has a demonstrated the ability to examine and study problems from different perspectives and identify new challenges in unique areas. Moreover, she combines a keen intellect with persistence in problem-solving – a rare talent.” For more information, visit

Harshitha Sreejith

The ECE department has chosen Harshitha Sreejith (second year Ph.D. student) for the James M. Henderson Fellowship. Established in 1999, the fellowship recognizes an outstanding first-year graduate student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering based upon the nominee’s undergraduate academic achievement and leadership in activities or research as an undergraduate. Her advisor Prof. Ravi Iyer has this to say “while Harshitha is new to our team, I already see her capabilities in addressing complex problems, and I have very high expectations for her future work. She is a quick learner who has shown significant promise.” To learn more about the James M. Henderson Fellowship, please visit

Prof. Iyer and DEPEND student, Yan Miao: Teachers Ranked as Excellent for Fall 2021

Yan Miao, Master’s Student in the DEPEND Group

Prof. Ravi Iyer (ECE 598) and Yan Miao (ECE 391) have made the lists of teachers ranked as excellent by their students for the Fall 2021 semester.

Results are based on the ratings from the Instructor and Course Evaluation System (ICES) maintained by Measurement and Evaluation in the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning.  For a complete list:


Yoga Varatharajah chosen for the 2021 CSL PhD Thesis Award

Former group member, Yoga Varatharajah, has been announced as the 2021 CSL Ph.D. Thesis Award winner for his thesis titled Domain-guided Machine Learning for Health Analytics: The Case for Neurological Diseases.  The CSL Ph.D. Thesis Award is given to a researcher whose Ph.D. thesis makes advances in a disciplinary area that has an interdisciplinary angle.  The selection committee focuses on candidates’ contributions, innovative ideas, and potential impact resulting from their Ph.D. work.

Please click here for the award presentation.